Honey Bee Envy

Honeybee

Photo by Paul Stein on Flickr

I was visiting a friend’s house last weekend to trade some of my extra butternut squash for some of her extra pecans, and found my gaze drifting back to the row of lovely honey jars she had tucked away on a shelf near the ceiling.  I have been fortunate enough to bring some of her honey home before and it’s divine.  Is there any honey that isn’t?  Oh no, there it goes again… bee envy.

I donated my vermicomposting setup and worms because I got tired of the idea caring for 5,000 pets.  Granted, red wigglers don’t shed.  But while worms give you lovely compost, bees give you honey.  Someday I’ll have bees.  Someday.  Can I count a hive as just one pet?

If you are in the Huntsville, AL area, you can find the Madison County Beekeepers Association on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/alabees or at http://www.alabees.com  And starting this week, they begin a 4 night class on beginning bee keeping.  If you, too, have bee envy and are maybe ready to take the plunge, I can’t think of a better way to get started.  Class details are:

Our next Beginner’s Practical Beekeeping Class will be in the Auditorium at the Main Branch of the Huntsville/Madison County Public library,located at 915 Monroe Street, Huntsville, AL 35801. This is one (1) class that is broken into four (4) nights. There is no way to cover all the material in 1 night. Each class will cover an different period of time in a year in the apiary. The class is taught through the use of Power Point slides, video, and class participation. The class will meet from 5:30pm to 9:00pm on 1/7/14, 1/22/14, 2/3/14, 2/12/14. There is no charge for the class, and it is open to anyone (school age children and older through adults) interested in honeybees. No books are required, but if you would like to purchase a book, the class is based on Honey Bees and Beekeeping: A Year in the Life of an Apiary, 3rd edition by Keith S. Delaplane. (ISBN: 1-929832-31-1). You are welcome to take notes. It would be advisable to bring a jacket or sweater for comfort as the room can be chilly at times.
I understand scheduling problems. If you miss a class, you can usually catch up by listening to the questions that the other students ask.

To register for the class, please email your Name, Address, Phone, and Email address to: beedaddyhoney@yahoo.com. I will add you to the roster once I receive your info.

 

2 thoughts on “Honey Bee Envy

  1. I’d be interested to know if your class encourages natural beekeeping without the use of chemicals, antibiotics, and miticides. I guess I’d be surprised if they do.

Leave a Reply

